General introduction


The Faculty of Medicine at the University of Ljubljana (UL MF) is the oldest higher education teaching and scientific research institution in the fields of medicine, dental medicine and the biomedical sciences in Slovenia. In accordance with regulations, the Ordinance on the Restructuring of the University of Ljubljana, the University of Ljubljana Statutes and the Rules on the Organisation and Functioning of the UL MF, it provides national higher education and research programmes in the field of biomedicine. The Faculty of Medicine was founded by the state. Today, it is an internationally recognised and established institution that offers its expertise in academic and scientific collaboration with some of the best medical faculties in the world.

The faculty is represented by its Dean, Professor Igor Švab

and comprises the following units:


  • the Department for the Integrated Master’s Course in Medicine, which is headed by the Vice-Dean for Medicine Professor Tomaž Marš
  • the Department for the Integrated Master’s Course in Dental Medicine, which is headed by the Vice-Dean for Dental Medicine Professor Janja Jan
  • the Department for Doctoral Studies and Scientific Research and Development, which is headed by Vice-Dean Professor Ksenija Geršak
  • the Department for Specialist Medical Activities, which is headed by the Vice-Dean for Specialist Medical Activities Professor Miroslav Petrovec.

The Secretary’s Office is headed by Alja Romšak, univ. dipl. prav., Faculty Secretary.

The Faculty of Medicine’s bodies are:


  • the Dean (and Vice-Deans)
  • the Senate (chaired by Professor Igor Švab)
  • the Board of Administrators (chaired by Professor Jože Balažic)
  • the Student Council (chaired by Anka Uršič)
  • the Academic Council (chaired by Professor Mojca Matičič)
  • the Board of Curators of the Oražen Bequest (chaired by Associate Professor Miroslav Petrovec).

Teaching and scientific research work at the Faculty of Medicine takes place within departments and institutes. Departments are the basic organisational units for clinical teaching and scientific research work, and are also responsible for developing clinical professions and fields. Institutes are the basic organisational units for pre-clinical teaching and scientific research work. Scientific research centres carry out activities in certain methodological or scientific fields.

Scientific research activities are performed by all institutes and clinical departments of the faculty. Special and intensified focus on research is given by the Institute of Microbiology and Immunology, the Institute of Pathology, the Institute of Forensic Medicine, the Institute of Anatomy, the Centre for Baromedicine and the Centre for Clinical Physiology.

The faculty also operates the Central Medical Library.